Imagination and a Fair

Today, one of my American friends turned 21. Turning 21 in France isn’t a big deal because everyone can already drink (the drinking age in France is 18), but to an American? It’s a huge milestone. So, we wanted to celebrate. But what to do? Well, it started with a nice lunch. We wanted to have a picnic, but it wasn’t the best day outside for that. We ate in the kitchen of the dorm and chatted.

 

It was free museum day again here in France so we went to the Jules Verne museum, which had been previously closed before. It was a small museum, but it was interesting to see the various types of book covers. Back in the good old days, books were precious items and people could even customize their book covers according to color and font! There was also a map of the world that lit up places where Jules Verne’s characters traveled (the button for ‘Around the World in 80 Days’ had lots of lights across the globe). It was quaint and dedicated to Verne’s imagination. It’s so interesting to think that such a famous writer was inspired by the very surroundings I see every day.

 

Cool book covers

Cool book covers

Kacy, Kerry (the birthday girl), and me at the Jules Verne Museum...finally! It was locked the last time we were there.

Kacy, Kerry (the birthday girl), and me at the Jules Verne Museum…finally! It was locked the last time we were there.

After the museum, we went to the Fête Foraine de Nantes, which is a fair in the middle of Nantes, right next to the castle. There were plenty of rides, but we didn’t go on any. What can we say? We’re poor college students. There were many food vendors selling cotton candy, “American” food (there was even an American flag), candied apples…so much food. I had a beignet with hot Nutella and powdered sugar. It was huge and so yummy…but my friends made me laugh and the powdered sugar went all over my face, my coat…the Nutella dripped on my fingers and I’m sure my face was covered in chocolate. I felt like a kid again at the fair, messy and carefree.

 

Kacy and Kerry at the fair

Kacy and Kerry at the fair

Me and Kerry at the fair

Me and Kerry at the fair

Food at the fair

Food at the fair

Fair

Fair

An "American" food place with an American flag

An “American” food place with an American flag

I cleaned myself up before I went back on the tram, but between yesterday’s chocolate evening and today’s monster Nutella snack? I may need to lay off the chocolate for a while!

 

I hope my friend had a good 21st birthday…I certainly know I enjoyed her company as we ventured across Nantes.

