Sur le Pont d’Avignon

I took a day trip to Avignon yesterday. I boarded the train and was in Avignon in no time at all. I found a tourism office pretty quickly and grabbed a map. I tried to find a free museum to duck into, but all of the free museums were mysteriously closed that week for renovations. I wandered around the city wondering what I was going to do for an entire day.

 

All hope seemed lost, but that’s when Notre Dame showed me the way. I went inside, looked around, and then ended up outside at these beautiful gardens. This garden was: Le Jardin des Doms. It is a very high spot above Avignon and you can see everything from up there, including the Rhône River.* I went down to the river and walked forever trying to find a bridge across. I found a bridge and spent a while walking along the river. It was a very sunny day out.

IMG_4261 IMG_4264_edited-1IMG_4268

I think the sun makes me more beautiful. Either that or it makes the boys more likely to confess their undying love… When walking along the river in Avignon, I had many teenage boys (and some older men, as usual) try to woo me. I think my favorite was this one guy who was just completely enamored (or possibly drunk)… “You are so pretty. You are the most beautiful creature…Wait. Please don’t walk away. Do you hear me?

 

Yep. Just walk away. The sun does crazy things to people. Oh no. The sun. Darn it. When will I ever learn? I burn very easily in the sun. I brought sunblock with me, but I didn’t bring it to Avignon. I completely forgot. I burnt quicker than a fork in a microwave.

 

I took a ferry across the river and snapped some good shots of the Pont d’Avignon (made famous by the song, “Sur le Pont d’Avignon”). I checked out some local shops and then went to the Pope’s Palace. Yes, the Pope.

IMG_4287 IMG_4288 IMG_4292 IMG_4298

Here’s a bit of history. The Pope didn’t always reside in Rome. For a period of time, the seat of the Catholic Church was in Avignon. I checked out the Pope’s crib and it was pretty cool, although it looked like they were getting for high tourist season so many of the rooms were under construction.

IMG_4254 IMG_4308 IMG_4313 IMG_4324

I still had time to spare so I went back to the Pont d’Avignon and actually went inside it. Did you know that the bridge has a chapel on it? It was built because Saint Bénezet was commanded by angels to build it. The bridge is actually called Pont Saint-Bénezet, but everyone calls it Pont d’Avignon.

IMG_4341 IMG_4342 IMG_4352

By this point, I was thoroughly sunburnt. Avignon is a small town completed encased in walls. I had explored the inner walls. I explored a little of the outer walls. I wasn’t sure what else to do, so I ended up going back to the train station a little early, mostly to get out of the sun.

 

It was a good day. Tiring, but good.

 

Sunburned, as you can see

Sunburned, as you can see

*I first saw the Rhône River in Lyon. I have now seen a portion all five major rivers in France:  La Seine (Paris), la Loire (Nantes), le Rhône (Lyon and Avignon), la Garonne (Toulouse) and le Rhin (Strasbourg).

I was on the train and I saw this guy. Look at his hat. Look at the size of the feather in his cap. That's a huge feather! Why does he have such a big feather in his hat? Where did he get the feather? What kind of bird is that from?

I was on the train and I saw this guy. Look at his hat. Look at the size of the feather in his cap. That’s a huge feather! Why does he have such a big feather in his hat? Where did he get the feather? What kind of bird is that from?

